Heart Chakra: Guide to the Fourth Chakra

Chakras are “Wheels” that refer to the energy field in our human body. 

Your energy field is a reflection of your physical, emotional and spiritual conditions and it is extremely sensitive. When you suffer from disease and sickness, you develop blockages in your energy field.

The human body has 7 primary chakras. The Heart Chakra is one of them.

The Heart Chakra

The fourth Chakra is the all-powerful heart chakra located in the middle of our chest and is the centre of our energetic system. 

What is the Heart Chakra?

The heart chakra helps you develop emotional empathy. It is responsible for shaping your emotion, to feel joy, compassion and love for ourselves, people and nature around us.


Physical Location: Above the heart

Colour: Emerald Green

Element: Air

What does the Heart Chakra help with?

Emotionally, the heart chakra shapes our experience of love. It allows us to feel joy, compassion, peace, love, empathy in the relationships we hold. 

Physically, the heart chakra is said to affect our health relating to our heart and lungs and feeds our thymus gland which is located behind the sternum.

The thymus gland is closely related to our immune system, producing many hormones as well as white blood cells to defend the body from pathogens including bacteria, viruses and fungi.

Symptoms of a blocked Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra is blocked, your emotional connections become more difficult. We may feel anxious, hostile, disconnected, experience emotions of fear, jealousy, envy and hate. 

Physically, conditions including heart pain, breathing problems, asthma or pneumonia may begin to appear, and our immune system is compromised making it easier for illnesses to take over. 

How to Open and Balance your Heart Chakra


Meditation can help restore balance and a flow of energy through your heart chakra. 

Try guided meditation to help channel energy through your body and through your chakras to balance your heart chakra. 


  • I love my life
  • I love nature
  • I choose happiness
  • I am compassionate
  • My heart is free from the past and from sorrow